Telling my Boyfriend, that I am Type 1 Diabetic

To give you some background my boyfriend Sam and I had been going out for nearly 3 years before I was diagnosed. If you have read my diagnosis story you would know that finding out I am diabetic span over four days. Two in which I spend with my boyfriend, so he was well aware that I had a high blood sugar and about my doctor’s appointment on the following Monday morning.  Once I was, officially diagnosed it was around half 4 in the afternoon on Monday 24 October and Sam doesn’t finish work until at least 5 so there was no way of telling him straight away even if I wanted to.

I knew that I didn’t want to just message him because it was way too big to just tell him over text, so my original thought was to tell him over the phone as I felt I would be able to explain it better and it is more personal that a text. Which resulted in the fact that as soon as he messaged me I tried to ring him, but he was on the train home so couldn’t answer the phone and asked if it was urgent?

I then decided then that I wanted to tell him in person instead, as I wasn’t sure how he was going to react and I didn’t want him to become worried that I am really ill, as I wasn’t sure about how much he knew about diabetes. Resulting in me messaging him back, asking if it was okay to come round to his round for a bit, that night after my tea. To which he said, “of course”. He also called me after getting off the train but I knew I definitely wanted to tell him in person at this point so we just talked about his day instead of mine.

Once getting to his I really didn’t know how to approach the subject so half way through him making his tea, and just general chit chat. I can’t actually remember exactly what I had said but I was along the lines of “shall I just tell you”. I then proceeded to tell him that I was diagnosed with type 1 diabetes and what had happened throughout the day. (Which you can find out more about by reading my diagnoses story.)

Disclaimer : Anything I say regarding diabetes, don’t take it as the Holy Grail as I am no expert and I’m just trying to figure it out as I go.

That’s all from me for now – Kathryn 🙂

telling-bfriend

Leave a Reply

