My Medical Necklace

dsc00039

Before being diagnosed with type one diabetes, I had actually never heard of medical jewellery or seen the symbol before.

dsc00043

 

This is the worldwide medical symbol that is used on jewellery to show that the person wearing it has a medical condition that needs to be made apparent if in the event of an emergency.

dsc00042

The medical jewellery piece I chose is an octagon sterling silver pendant necklace.

With most medical jewellery, you have the piece engraved with your medical condition and your name if there is enough room. The one I chose however instead has a section that screws of at the back, where a specially designed concatenated piece of paper is. There I am able to write my name my medical condition and a contract number in case of an emergency. There are both pluses and negatives to each one but I chose to have a twist off as I wouldn’t be able to engrave a number in case it ever changed.

I got my necklace from – http://www.medicaltags.co.uk/infomedic-sos-medical-pendants.html

Disclaimer: Anything I say regarding diabetes, don’t take it as the Holy Grail as I am no expert and I’m just trying to figure it out as I go.

That’s all from me for now – Kathryn 🙂

2 thoughts on “My Medical Necklace

    1. Hehe thank you I really like it too, and oh wow really? I’ve seen diabetes tattoos before, I think they are a great idea, although I don’t think I’ll ever get a tattoo myself. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

