My Experience with having Type 1 Diabetes in Public

When I was first diagnosed with type one diabetes, one of the main concerns were how people would react to me dealing with my diabetes in public.

Now obviously everyone’s experiences are going to be different, but I’ve generally found that most people don’t notice at all, or at least they defiantly don’t show it.

dsc00077

I was defiantly rather surprised in the beginning that whenever I would get any of my diabetes related, paraganglia out. (such as my blood testing kit or my insulin pen) That no one would ask me what I was doing or comment on it at all, actually.

dsc00074

Since then the only kind of acknowledgement I have had from other people has been from either friends or family that have been out with or people I had been talking to previously.

dsc00079

Now, to be honest, I really do hope that the positive experiences I have had so far continue, and I hope that on a whole you have a positive experience too.

For me, I am going to treat it as I know what I am doing is right, and the right thing to do for my body, so there is no reason to hide away or be ashamed about treating my diabetes AT ALL!

I hope your all having a great day!!!

Disclaimer: Anything I say regarding diabetes, don’t take it as the Holy Grail as I am no expert and I’m just trying to figure it out as I go.

That’s all from me for now – Kathryn 🙂

picmonkey-image-pinterest

One thought on “My Experience with having Type 1 Diabetes in Public

Leave a Reply

