How I Record my Type 1 Diabetes

If you have read, my diagnose story you would know that I started recording my blood sugar a couple of days before I was officially diagnosed with type 1 diabetes. Due to the fact, that we were alarmed at how high my blood sugar was and so wanted to keep it monitored.

On Friday when it was decided that I would start to monitor my blood sugar levels I grabbed I spare notebook, luckily I’m one of those people with way too many notebooks.

dsc00168

The way I chose to record my results was to basically split my page up into three columns. With the first one recording what day and time it was. The second column is where a wrote down my score (blood sugar level). Finally, in the last column, I decided to have space if I wanted to write down any additional information, which comes in very handy.

dsc00017

Now I used that notebook for just over a month. At which point I decided that I needed to start using a smaller notebook to enable me to use a smaller bag and still be able to record my results while out and about.

dsc00164

To achieve this I simply and luckily had a selection of even smaller notebooks around A6 size that I had been gifted to me. Which I simply proceed to use in pretty much the same way with only a few changes.

The first change that I decided to make, was to only put one day, on one page as I found that, because it was such a small book it made it easier to find the date I want when looking back through the book.

dsc00167

The second change I made actually started in the first book but have not yet mentioned to you is that I started to use different coloured pens depending on what I am recording. For example, I use a black pen to record my blood sugar level and a blue pen to record how many units I have taken for what food.

 

If you decided to start recording your diabetes, I hope you find my method useful!

Disclaimer: Anything I say regarding diabetes, don’t take it as the Holy Grail as I am no expert and I’m just trying to figure it out as I go.

That’s all from me for now – Kathryn 🙂

pintrest

 

2 thoughts on “How I Record my Type 1 Diabetes

  1. It is possible to get blood sugar monitors that you can download the data from. (Contour link £25 for example). I realise writing it may be therapeutic but wanted to say in case this was helpful. You can convert the figures from the BG monitor into graphs etc too which can be helpful

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, I believe I’ve seen pictures on Instagram of them and I have to say they do look like a good idea. It may be something I look more into in the future, but I’m okay for now. Thank you for your suggestion though! 😄💝

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

