14.8g carb Muesli Bar Recipe – From Diabetes UK

Today I wanted to go through, with you the ‘Spiced Apple and Raisin Muesli Bars’ recipe from Enjoy Food Diabetes UK, my thoughts on the muesli bars and the process I did to achieve the end product.

The recipe on Diabetes UK website: Here

dsc00219

To start off I would like to say that if you did, received the ‘Enjoy Food’ magazine, with this recipe inside. Then there maybe a typo in the recipe as mine stated that each 51g bar contained 1.8g carb but on the website, it states that it is 14.8grams of carb per bar and after asking Diabetes UK they confirmed that the website is correct.

The ingredients you will need are:

  • 2 Bananas
  • 2 Apples
  • 175g Rolled Oats (I used porridge oats)
  • 150ml Apple Juice
  • 40g Raisins
  • 40g Mixed Seeds
  • 1 Heaped tsp of Ground Cinnamon
  • 1 tsp Rapeseed Oil (If you don’t have this I believe you can sub it
    with any other cooking oil)dsc00200

Okay, so the first thing you need to do is, of course, make sure you have all your ingredients and the equipment, like a bowl, chopping board, scales and sharp knife. You want to preheat your oven to 180 C/ gas 4 and either oil a baking tray or line it with some grease proof paper.

Now this recipe is basically an all in one method, which makes it incredibly easy!!

  • So your gonna mash up two bananas dsc00211
  • Core and finely chop (do not peel) two apples
  • Measure 175g of rolled oats
  • Pour in 150ml of apple juice (I used a 200ml
    juice box so I just left a quarter in)
  • Measure 40g of raisins and mixed seeds
  • And finally measure one heaped teaspoon of ground
    cinnamon and rapeseed oildsc00206

Put it all in a bowl

dsc00214

And mix until it looks like this

dsc00215

Then spread your mixture out evenly into your baking tin so the have an even 2cm thickness. Then place on the top shelve of your oven until the top layer becomes hard. The recommended timing is 15- 20 mins but mine took 35 mins so just keep checking on your muesli bar until you are happy with the constantly.

dsc00217

Once cooled you can then cut your muesli bars into portion sizes. The recipe says you can get 16 portions out of this mixture but to me that just a bit too small so instead I cut mine up into 12 portions and obviously when you are cutting the muesli bar into portion sizes you need to take into account that, depending on many portions you are cutting it into, will affect a number of carbs in each bar.dsc00218

  • 16 portions = 14.8g carb per bar
  • 12 portions = around 15g carb per bar

Overall I think this is a really great recipe, it’s really easy to make and tastes really good! I hope you have a go at making this recipe yourself, and if you do I would love to see it, so makes sure to @ me and DiabetesUK in your twitter or Instagram post!

Disclaimer: This is not my recipe, this recipe has come from Diabetes UK  . Anything I say regarding diabetes, don’t take it as the Holy Grail as I am no expert and I’m just trying to figure it out as I go, and if you have any queries make sure to ask your local diabetic team.

That’s all from me for now – Kathryn 🙂

pinterest

Leave a Reply

