What Food I Carry Around With Me Everyday

As a type 1 diabetic, I carry food around with my constantly in my bag as I never want to be in a situation where I am having a hypo and I have no easy access to sugar. (Thankfully this hasn’t happened to me either)

So these are the food and 1 drink that I’ve found that I like to keep in my bag:

Tip: I keep all my food in the front pocket of my bag, as it makes it easier to access and keeps it all in one place.

DSC00228

Apple Juice: This is my one drink item. It’s great for getting a big hypo fix without having to think too much.

DSC00230

Polo Mints (sugar-free): Now these aren’t used as a hypo fix, but even though they are sugar-free mint at 4.3g carb per 3 mint ( I only ever have one mint at a time) I still find that it raises my blood only slightly but still noticeable so for this reason I use polo mints for cautionary measure just to ensure I’m not going to go low. (but don’t quote me on that as they may act differently with your blood sugar)

DSC00232

Jelly Babies: Now these are definitely my favourite and go to hypo treatment basically because they are really yummy, and obviously work really well at fixing a hypo.I keep mine in a coin bag ( unused) because it’s easy to seal so there not going end up all over my bag. and it’s a great travel size as you can fit more that enough jelly babies in the bag without having to carry the really crinkly bags with that they come in with you.

DSC00233

KitKats: The last thing I carry are KitKat as they are on of my favourite chocolate treats and it’s really great if you’re out and really want some chocolate but don’t want to think about it too much as they are only 1 unit a bar.

DSC00231

Disclaimer: Anything I say regarding diabetes, don’t take it as the holy grail as I am no expert and I’m just trying to figure it out as I go, and if you have any queries make sure to ask your local diabetic team.

That’s all from me for now – Kathryn 🙂

pintrest

Leave a Reply

