What to Expect When Going for Your Eye and Foot Screening

I had my first eye and foot screening, recently and I really didn’t know what to expect apart from that I knew they were gonna put drops and my eyes, which just scared me! So I’ve put together some bullet points as to, what to think about for preparation, aftercare and also the basic run through of what will happen while you’re at your appointment, or at least this is what happened to me.

PREPARATION: So you’ve received your letter telling you, you have an upcoming eye and foot screening appointment things you need to think about are: DSC00234

  • Timing: what time is your appointment? Are they asking you to arrive early?
  • Location: Where is the appointment? Have you been to that building before? If not do you know where is and how to get there?
  • Footwear: Make sure to wear items that allow an easy access to your bear feet and can be easily taken on and off.
  • Eyewear: Bring your prescription glasses (obviously only if you have prescription glasses) And bring sunglasses, now this may seem a little odd, but because of the eye DSC00237drops, your eyes become much more sensitive to light so especially on a bright day while will find that you will be wanting to wear sunglasses when leaving your appointment.
  • Company: Is someone going with you? Are they helping you get home/ taking you home? (This isn’t a necessary so if this isn’t possible then don’t worry, but it is nice to have. Just remember DO NOT drive after your appointment until the effect of the eye drops has worn off.)

Now, this is a quick run through of what happened to me when I went for my first eye and foot screening.

First of all, I went with my Mum so what she could drive me home afterwards. Once we got to the building I needed to sign in once we’d figured out which floor it was on. I got seen to straight away which was really nice. I saw two ladies the first did a little eye test. ( the once where the read the letter, off the board and they get smaller as you go down) The next thing she did was to put some drops in my eyes, which isn’t fun at all, but thankfully she was very nice and worked with me to put the eye drops in. She then proceeds to check my feet, first making sure that they visibly looked fine. The next step was to make sure I wasn’t losing any feeling in my feet and they do this by doing three little pokes on the base of my feet. Once that was finished I was told to wait in the waiting room for 20 min to let the effect of the eye drops properly take effect, as what the eye drops are doing are relaxing the muscles in your eyes. After 20 mins and another woman sat me down at an eye machine that took a picture of the back of my eyes and then proceeded to show me the picture that had been taken and tell me that everything looked fine and what there would have been if there was someone wrong with my eyes.DSC00235

In terms of aftercare I would say that its defiantly a big help to have someone come with you and help you get home as the eye drops basically make your close up vision every blurry as anything like looking at your phone or watch become near enough impossible and due to this I would also suggest giving yourself a decent amount of time where you don’t need to do anything as you wait for the effect of the eye drops to wear off for me this took about 2 hours.

Disclaimer: Anything I say regarding diabetes, don’t take it as the holy grail as I am no expert and I’m just trying to figure it out as I go, and if you have any queries make sure to ask your local diabetic team.

That’s all from me for now – Kathryn 🙂

pintrest

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

