What it was like Growing up with 2 Type 1 Diabetic Brothers

For this post, I thought it would be interesting to think back to what my understanding of diabetes was growing up, as a then none diabetic sister to two diabetic older brothers.

  • I knew they had diabetes, that there were two different types and that they didn’t cause it themselves but I would always get mixed up between whether they had type 1 or type 2.
  • Now, this is going to sound strange, so bear with me on this on. To me growing up the smell of insulin smelt like rumble/ plaster/ a building site. Now I’ve come to realise that this is because both my brothers used to work on building sights and what I didn’t realise was that it was insulin I was smelling on them, as my brain growing up just associated the smell of insulin with their work.
  • I knew I needed to not bother them and to get out of the way when they were having a hypo. (I knew they were having a hypo when they would get really grumpy and head towards the kitchen.)
  • I knew that they should always carry food with them.
  • Seeing my brother inject themselves with insulin was completely normal to me.
  • I remember always seeing the foil caps that you get on needles and used test strips on the floor, but never knew what they were from, just that my brothers had left them there.

There are the main things that I remember growing up with diabetes growing up

Disclaimer: Anything I say regarding diabetes, don’t take it as the holy grail as I am no expert and I’m just trying to figure it out as I go, and if you have any queries make sure to ask your local diabetic team.

That’s all from me for now – Kathryn 🙂

pin

Leave a Reply

