My Night to Morning Routine as a Type 1 Diabetic

Today I want to run through with you the steps I take for my night to the morning routine and most importantly the steps I take to prepare myself the night before, for the next day, full of treating my diabetes.

1) First off a get changed into my pyjamas

2) I take my two insulin pens and changes both the needles on each. This is something I only do once a day (unless of course they get damaged) Now you can change your needles as many times as you like throughout the day and it is recommended that you change the need before each injection but I have found that changing my needle once a day works perfectly fine for me and I have found that doing it at night works especially well for me as when I wake up in the morning I’m not having to think about changing my need in my sleepy state, it’s just one less thing to think about.

3) Once the needle head has been changed my next step it to my into the bathroom and brush my teeth and such but also to do my test shots in the sink and this is really important to make sure that your needles are working properly.

4) From about 10:30 to 11:00 depending on what I’m doing that day, is when I will take my night time insulin which is ten units of insulin which I always do in my thigh. (At meal time I inject into my stomach and at night I inject into my thigh, which is just my own personal preference.) (I great tip is to have an alarm on your phone if you are having to have a inject at a certain time so I have my alarm set for 11 pm so I don’t forget.)

And that it is for the night, I will just stay on my phone then until I want to go to sleep.

5) In the mornings this does slightly change every day depending on what is happening, but in this morning the first thing I did that to have breakfast, make sure the check my blood sugar and take my insulin accordingly.

6) The rest of my morning routine consist of me making my bed,

7) Getting dressing, (making sure to put my medical necklace on)

8) Doing my hair and brushing my teeth, just as I am sure most of us do.

I hope you enjoyed reading through my night to the morning routine, and I hope to some you found it useful.

Disclaimer: Anything I say regarding diabetes, don’t take it as the holy grail as I am no expert and I’m just trying to figure it out as I go, and if you have any queries make sure to ask your local diabetic team.

That’s all from me for now Kathryn πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

