First Impressions on Reusable Insulin Pens

I changed to reusable insulin pens for both my quick acting and background insulin around three months ago. The many difference that I noticed straight away was the difference in weight and size and actually, now when holding my old insulin pens the feel incredibly flimsy in comparison.

DSC00430

My favourite out of my two reusable pens has to be the Nova pen echo, which holds my quick acting insulin. I love the fact that you can do half units with this pen, which is the main reason why I switch over to reusable pens for my quick acting insulin as it gives me much better control over how many units I am giving myself. Another feature of the pen that I really like is that the pen is able to record the last amount of insulin you gave yourself and gives you a rough estimate on how long ago you took the shot. This is a great feature, especially as something I had to get used to with this pen not doing, was allowing me to count down a number of units I was giving myself, as the echo pen just makes a swooshing noise when administering the insulin, making the ability to check on the amount of insulin last taken greatly appreciated.

DSC00434

The ClikSTAR pen which holds my long acting insulin doesn’t have any of the fancy features like the echo pen but is a really good sturdy pen although I do find it rather chunky even more so than the echo.

As for cartridges, I do like the fact that you are only having to change the cartridge in the pen each time. Meaning there is less waste and also less room in the fridge taken up by insulin. My only down side to cartridge pens that I have found is that I worry one day I may lose my pens or my bag might get stolen with my pens in and I am then left with nothing to administrate my insulin with.

DSC00438

If you are thinking about switching over to cartridge pens I hope this blog has given you an insight into the pros and cons for reusable insulin pens that I have found so far. I also have a video below talking about the topic and show myself changing the cartridges.

That’s all from me for now – Kathryn 🙂

Disclaimer: Anything I say regarding diabetes, don’t take it as the Holy Grail as I am no expert and I’m just trying to figure it out as I go, and if you have any queries make sure to ask your local diabetic team.

DSC00438pin

2 thoughts on “First Impressions on Reusable Insulin Pens

Leave a Reply

